Faculty

Peter Rollberg

Peter Rollberg

Director, IERES and European and Eurasian Studies MA Program Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures

(Soviet and post-Soviet culture and media, literature and film of Russia and Eurasia)
Philips 513J
202.994.8711
prollberg@gmail.com

Theodore Christov

Theodore Christov

Assistant Professor of Honors, History, and International Affairs

(Early modern and modern European history; theories of European integration)
Phillips Hall 335
202.994.6254
christov@gwu.edu

Laura Engel

Laura Engel

Assistant Professor of International Education and International Affairs

2134 G Street
202.994.8263
lce@gwu.edu

John K. Glenn

John K. Glenn

German Marshall Fund
IAFF 6338: Transatlantic Relations in the 21st Century
jkglenn@gwu.edu

James Hershberg

James Hershberg

Professor of History and International Affairs

(Cold War International History)
Phillips Hall 326
202.994.6476
jhershb@gwu.edu

Olof Kronvall

Olof Kronvall

Professorial Lecturer

Norwegian Institute for Defence Studies, Norwegian Defence University College 
IAFF 6321: Colloquium: Europe and Eurasia

Harris Mylonas

Harris Mylonas

Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

(Nation-building and the Balkans) 
2115 G Street
Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.1466
mylonas@gwu.edu

Peter Reddaway

Peter Reddaway

Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs

(Russian/Soviet politics)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
pbreddaway@cs.com

Nikolay Shiklomanov

Nikolay Shiklomanov

Associate Professor of Geography

(Arctic environment and development, climate change) 
Old Main 215
202.994.3966
shiklom@gwu.edu

Mary Beth Stein

Mary Beth Stein

Associate Professor of German and International Affairs

(German literature)
Phillips Hall 509
202.994.6896
mbstein@gwu.edu

Sarah Wagner

Sarah Wagner

Professor of Anthropology

(War and memory, nationalism, forced migration, military culture, post-conflict social reconstruction)
Hortense Amsterdam House 301 202.994.7545
sewagner@gwu.edu

Hugh Agnew

Hugh Agnew

Professor of History and International Affairs

(East European history)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.6034
agnew@gwu.edu

Steven Coffey

Steven Coffey

Professorial Lecturer

IAFF 6339: European and Eurasian Studies Capstone
Steven.j.coffey@gmail.com

Henry Farrell

Henry Farrell

Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

(Technology policy / US-EU relations)
Old Main, 1922 F Street, Suite 414
202.994.7933
henry@henryfarrell.net

Henry Hale

Henry Hale

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

(Post-Soviet politics, political regimes, parties, ethnic politics)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.4810
hhale@gwu.edu

Merve Kavakci

Merve Kavakci

Professorial Lecturer

IAFF 6338: Turkey’s Place in Europe
Kavakci@gwu.edu

Erwan Lagadec

Erwan Lagadec

Professorial Lecturer

IAFF 2094: Europe: International and Domestic Interactions (undergraduate)
Elagadec@gwu.edu

Frances Norwood

Frances Norwood

Assistant Research Professor and Professorial Lecturer in Anthropology

(The Netherlands, aging, disability, euthanasia, medical anthropology) 
2110 G Street, Suite 102
fnorwood@gwu.edu

Scheherazade Rehman

Scheherazade Rehman

Professor of International Business and International Affairs

International finance, economic development, the European Union) 
Funger Hall 401E
202.994.6813
rehman@gwu.edu

Tara M. Sinclair

Tara M. Sinclair

Associate Professor of Economics and International Affairs

(EU and Western Europe macroeconomics)
Monroe Hall 314
202.994.7988
tsinc@gwu.edu

Dmitry Streletskiy

Dmitry Streletskiy

Associate Professor of Geography

(Arctic, climate change)
1922 F St, Room 217
202.994.9168
strelets@gwu.edu

Sharon L. Wolchik

Sharon L. Wolchik

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

(East European politics and gender issues)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7524
wolchik@gwu.edu

Muriel A. Atkin

Muriel A. Atkin

Professor of History

(Russian history and Muslims in former USSR)
Phillips Hall 336
202.994.6426
matkin@gwu.edu

Maurice A. East

Maurice A. East

Professor Emeritus of International Affairs and Political Science

(International politics, comparative foreign policy, foreign policies of small nations)
202.994.7161
meast@gwu.edu

Harvey B. Feigenbaum

Harvey B. Feigenbaum

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

(European politics)
1957 E Street, Suite 501
202.994.9356
harveyf@gwu.edu

Hope Harrison

Hope Harrison

Associate Professor of History and International Affairs

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5439
hopeharr@gwu.edu

Michelle Kelso

Michelle Kelso

Assistant Professor of Sociology and International Affairs

(Holocaust and genocide studies, race and ethnicity, migration, and gender studies) 
Phillips Hall 409
mkelso@gwu.edu

Marlene Laruelle

Marlene Laruelle

Associate Director, IERES Research Professor of International Affairs Director, Central Asia Program Co-Director - PONARS Eurasia

(Russia, Arctic, Central Asia, politics, society and identity) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.3368
laruelle@gwu.edu
www.marlene-laruelle.com

Robert Orttung

Robert Orttung

Co-Editor, Russian Analytical Digest Associate Research Professor of International Affairs

(Energy security, democracy, federalism) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5730
rorttung@gwu.edu

Sean Roberts

Sean Roberts

Associate Professor of the Practice of International Affairs and of Anthropology

(Development theory in the former Soviet Union)
1957 E Street, Suite 501 G
202.994.7739
seanrr@gwu.edu

Michael J. Sodaro

Michael J. Sodaro

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7412
sodaro@gwu.edu

Paul Stronski

Paul Stronski

Hist 6030: Uses of History in International Affairs
stronski@gwu.edu

Andrew Zimmerman

Andrew Zimmerman

Professor of History and International Affairs

(German history)
Phillips Hall 304
202.994.0257
azimmer@gwu.edu

Gregg A. Brazinsky

Gregg A. Brazinsky

Associate Professor of History and International Affairs

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.0987
brazinsk@gwu.edu

Daina Stukuis Eglitis

Daina Stukuis Eglitis

Associate Professor of Sociology and International Affairs

(Classical and contemporary social theory,feminist theory, social stratification in newly capitalist and advanced capitalist states, women and social change)
Phillips Hall 409 I
202.994.1515
dainas@gwu.edu

Evgeny Finkel

Evgeny Finkel

Assistant Professor of Political Science

(Political violence, genocide studies, Holocaust, Central and Eastern Europe, Israel)
Monroe Hall 419
202.994.3764
efinkel@gwu.edu

Oleh Havrylyshyn

Oleh Havrylyshyn

Department of Economics
Monroe Hall Suite 340
havrylyshyn@gwu.edu

Steven Kramer

Steven Kramer

Lecturer

PSC 6361: Politics of European Integration

Kimberly Morgan

Kimberly Morgan

Associate Professor of Political Science

(West European politics)
2215 G Street
Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.2809
kjmorgan@gwu.edu

Sebastien Peyrouse

Sebastien Peyrouse

Research Professor of International Affairs

(Central Asia) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.8534
speyrouse@gwu.edu

Richard Robin

Richard Robin

Professor of Russian and International Affairs

(Russian language)
Phillips Hall 509
202.994.7081
rrobin@gwu.edu

Eliot Sorel

Eliot Sorel

Clinical Professor of Global Health, Health Services Management & Leadership and of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences

(Health systems strengthening and global governance, complex emergencies, leadership training) 
2301 E Street, #A1011
202.293.2112
esorel@gwu.edu

David Szakonyi

David Szakonyi

Assistant Professor of Political Science

(Political economy, corruption, politics of Russia and the former Soviet Union)
Monroe Hall 416
202.994.9231
dszakonyi@gwu.edu