Faculty

Peter Rollberg
Director, IERES and European and Eurasian Studies MA Program
Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures
(Soviet and post-Soviet culture and media, literature and film of Russia and Eurasia)
Philips 513J
202.994.8711
prollberg@gmail.com
Hugh L. Agnew
Professor of History and International Affairs
(East European history)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.6034
agnew@gwu.edu
Muriel A. Atkin
Professor of History
(Russian history and Muslims in former USSR)
Phillips Hall 336
202.994.6426
matkin@gwu.edu
Gregg A. Brazinsky
Associate Professor of History and International Affairs
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.0987
brazinsk@gwu.edu
Theodore Christov
Assistant Professor of Honors, History, and International Affairs
(Early modern and modern European history; theories of European integration)
Phillips Hall 335
202.994.6254
christov@gwu.edu
Steven Coffey
Professorial Lecturer
IAFF 6339: European and Eurasian Studies Capstone
Steven.j.coffey@gmail.com
Maurice A. East
Professor Emeritus of International Affairs and Political Science
(International politics, comparative foreign policy, foreign policies of small nations)
202.994.7161
meast@gwu.edu
Daina Stukuis Eglitis
Associate Professor of Sociology and International Affairs
(Classical and contemporary social theory,feminist theory, social stratification in newly capitalist and advanced capitalist states, women and social change)
Phillips Hall 409 I
202.994.1515
dainas@gwu.edu
Laura Engel
Assistant Professor of International Education and International Affairs
2134 G Street
202.994.8263
lce@gwu.edu
Henry Farrell
Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
(Technology policy / US-EU relations)
Old Main, 1922 F Street, Suite 414
202.994.7933
henry@henryfarrell.net
Harvey B. Feigenbaum
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
(European politics)
1957 E Street, Suite 501
202.994.9356
harveyf@gwu.edu
Evgeny Finkel
Assistant Professor of Political Science
(Political violence, genocide studies, Holocaust, Central and Eastern Europe, Israel)
Monroe Hall 419
202.994.3764
efinkel@gwu.edu
John K. Glenn
German Marshall Fund
IAFF 6338: Transatlantic Relations in the 21st Century
jkglenn@gwu.edu
Henry Hale 
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
(Post-Soviet politics, political regimes, parties, ethnic politics) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.4810
hhale@gwu.edu
hope Hope Harrison
Associate Professor of History and International Affairs
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5439
hopeharr@gwu.edu
Oleh Havrylyshyn
Department of Economics
Monroe Hall Suite 340
havrylyshyn@gwu.edu
James Hershberg
Professor of History and International Affairs
(Cold War International History)
Phillips Hall 326
202.994.6476
jhershb@gwu.edu
Merve Kavakci
Professorial Lecturer
IAFF 6338: Turkey’s Place in Europe
Kavakci@gwu.edu
Michelle Kelso
Assistant Professor of Sociology and International Affairs
(Holocaust and genocide studies, race and ethnicity, migration, and gender studies) 
Phillips Hall 409
mkelso@gwu.edu
Steven Kramer
Lecturer
PSC 6361: Politics of European Integration
Olof Kronvall
Professorial Lecturer
Norwegian Institute for Defence Studies, Norwegian Defence University College 
IAFF 6321: Colloquium: Europe and Eurasia
Erwan Lagadec
Professorial Lecturer
IAFF 2094: Europe: International and Domestic Interactions (undergraduate)
Elagadec@gwu.edu
Marlene Laruelle
Associate Director, IERES
Research Professor of International Affairs
Director, Central Asia Program
Co-Director – PONARS Eurasia
(Russia, Arctic, Central Asia, politics, society and identity) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.3368
laruelle@gwu.edu
www.marlene-laruelle.com
Kimberly Morgan
Associate Professor of Political Science
(West European politics)
2215 G Street
Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.2809
kjmorgan@gwu.edu
Harris Mylonas
Assistant Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
(Nation-building and the Balkans) 
2115 G Street
Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.1466
mylonas@gwu.edu
Frances Norwood
Assistant Research Professor and Professorial Lecturer in Anthropology
(The Netherlands, aging, disability, euthanasia, medical anthropology) 
2110 G Street, Suite 102
fnorwood@gwu.edu
Robert Orttung
Co-Editor, Russian Analytical Digest
Associate Research Professor of International Affairs
(Energy security, democracy, federalism) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5730
rorttung@gwu.edu
Sebastien Peyrouse
Research Professor of International Affairs
(Central Asia) 
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.8534
speyrouse@gwu.edu
Peter Reddaway
Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs
(Russian/Soviet politics)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
pbreddaway@cs.com
Scheherazade Rehman
Professor of International Business and International Affairs
(International finance, economic development, the European Union) 
Funger Hall 401E
202.994.6813
rehman@gwu.edu
Sean Roberts
Assosicate Professor of the Practice of International Affairs and of Anthropology
(Development theory in the former Soviet Union)
1957 E Street, Suite 501 G
202.994.7739
seanrr@gwu.edu
Richard Robin
Professor of Russian and International Affairs
(Russian language)
Phillips Hall 509
202.994.7081
rrobin@gwu.edu
Nikolay Shiklomanov
Associate Professor of Geography
(Arctic environment and development, climate change) 
Old Main 215
202.994.3966
shiklom@gwu.edu
Tara M. Sinclair
Associate Professor of Economics and International Affairs
(EU and Western Europe macroeconomics)
Monroe Hall 314
202.994.7988
tsinc@gwu.edu
Michael J. Sodaro
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7412
sodaro@gwu.edu
Eliot Sorel 
Clinical Professor of Global Health, Health Services Management & Leadership and of Psychiatry & Behavioral Sciences
(Health systems strengthening and global governance, complex emergencies, leadership training) 
2301 E Street, #A1011
202.293.2112
esorel@gwu.edu
Mary Beth Stein
Associate Professor of German and International Affairs
(German literature)
Phillips Hall 509
202.994.6896
mbstein@gwu.edu
Dmitry Streletskiy
Associate Professor of Geography
(Arctic, climate change)
1922 F St, Room 217
202.994.9168
strelets@gwu.edu
Paul Stronski
Hist 6030: Uses of History in International Affairs
stronski@gwu.edu
David Szakonyi
Assistant Professor of Political Science
(Political economy, corruption, politics of Russia and the former Soviet Union)
Monroe Hall 416
202.994.9231
dszakonyi@gwu.edu
Sarah Wagner
Professor of Anthropology
(War and memory, nationalism, forced migration, military culture, post-conflict social reconstruction)
Hortense Amsterdam House 301 202.994.7545
sewagner@gwu.edu
Sharon L. Wolchik
Professor of Political Science and International Affairs
(East European politics and gender issues)
1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7524
wolchik@gwu.edu
Andrew Zimmerman
Professor of History and International Affairs
(German history)
Phillips Hall 304
202.994.0257
azimmer@gwu.edu