Faculty

IERES has numerous full-time faculty from various academic disciplines, including political science, economics, history, languages, literature, film studies, anthropology, sociology, public policy, and geography. IERES is also home to lecturers, who are leading practicioners in their field and teach part-time for the Institute.

Marlene Laruelle

Director, IERES, Director, Central Asia Program, Co-Director – PONARS Eurasia, Research Professor of International Affairs

Research Interests: Russia, Arctic, Central Asia, politics, society and identity

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.3368
laruelle@gwu.edu
www.marlene-laruelle.com

Hugh L. Agnew

Professor of History and International Affairs

Research Interest: History of Eastern Europe, history of Czech Republic, nationalism

Phillips Hall, 315
202.994.3785
agnew@gwu.edu

Muriel A. Atkin

Professor of History

Research Interests: Russian history and Muslims in the former USSR

Phillips Hall, 336
202.994.6426
matkin@gwu.edu

Gregg A. Brazinsky

Professor of History and International Affairs

Research Interests: U.S.-East Asian Relations, Korean history, East Asian history

1957 E Street, Suite 503
202.994.0987
brazinsk@gwu.edu

Leo Chalupa

Professor of Pharmacology and Physiology

Ross Hall
2300 Eye Street, Suite 640
202.994.5341


Theodore Christov

Assistant Professor of Honors, History, and International Affairs

Research Interests: Early modern and modern European history; theories of European integration

Phillips Hall 335
202.994.6254
christov@gwu.edu

Maurice A. East

Professor Emeritus of International Affairs and Political Science

Research Interests: International politics, comparative foreign policy, foreign policies of small nations

202.994.7161
meast@gwu.edu

 

 

Daina Stukuls Eglitis

Associate Professor of Sociology and International Affairs

Research Interests: Classical and contemporary social theory,feminist theory, social stratification in newly capitalist and advanced capitalist states, women and social change

Phillips Hall 409 I
202.994.1515
dainas@gwu.edu

Laura Engel

Associate Professor of International Education and International Affairs

Research Interests: International and comparative education, globalizations, citizenship, education policy, federal systems, Spain/Catalonia, equity

2134 G Street
202.994.8263
lce@gwu.edu

 

Henry Farrell

Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: Technology policy, U.S.-EU relations

Monroe 408

202.994.7933
henry@henryfarrell.net

Harvey B. Feigenbaum

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: European politics

Monroe 478
202.994.9356
harveyf@gwu.edu

John K. Glenn

German Marshall Fund
IAFF 6338: Transatlantic Relations in the 21st Century
jkglenn@gwu.edu

 

Tobias Greiff

Assistant Dean, Academic Programs and Professional Lecturer for International Affairs

Research Interests: Political agency in the Balkans, the emergence of new violent actors and their political use of cultural matrixes (symbols, discourses, rituals) to mobilize, legitimize and  justify violence

1957 E St. NW, Office 401D
202.994.0043
tgreiff@gwu.edu

 

Henry Hale

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: Political regimes, ethnic politics, political behavior, political parties, politics of Eurasia (esp. Russia, Ukraine, Azerbaijan, Uzbekistan)

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.4810
hhale@gwu.edu

 

 

 

 

 

Hope M. Harrison

Professor of History and International Affairs

Research Interests: The Berlin Wall, East and West Germany, united Germany, international history of the Cold War, Russian foreign policy, German foreign policy, the Caucasus, the influence of history on policy making in international affairs, the politicization of history, truth and reconciliation, historical justice, transitional justice, and the U.S. foreign and security policymaking process

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5439
hopeharr@gwu.edu

Anna Helm

Director, Center for International Business Education and Research (GW-CIBER); Associate Professor of International Business; GW–CIBER Business Languages Coordinator

Research Interests: International marketing, consumer perceptions of green products, sustainability and martket strategoy, business case methodology

Funger Hall 403
202.994.8150
ahelm@gwu.edu

James G. Hershberg

Professor of History and International Affairs

Research Interests: International history of the Cold War, contemporary international relations, and nuclear history  

Phillips Hall 326
202.994.6476
jhershb@gwu.edu

Michelle Kelso

Assistant Professor of Sociology and International Affairs

Research Interests: Historical & Comparative Sociology, Ethnography, Sociology of Education, Race & Ethnicity, Health & Aging, Visual Sociology

Phillips Hall 409
mkelso@gwu.edu

Olof Kronvall

Professional Lecturer

 

Erwan Lagadec

Associate Research Professor of International Affairs

Research Interests: EU, NATO, Development aid, Crisis management

1957 E Street, Suite 412
Elagadec@gwu.edu

 

Saniya LeBlanc

Associate Professor of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Research Interests: materials science, energy conversion, and thermal transport

SEH 3570
seblanc@gwu.edu

 

 

Kimberly Morgan

Associate Professor of Political Science, Director, MA Program in European and Eurasian Studies

Research Interests: European politics, gender, comparative social policy, immigration

Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.2809
kjmorgan@gwu.edu

Harris Mylonas

Associate Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: Nationalism, Nation-building, Diaspora policies, European integration, Qualitative Research Methods

2115 G Street
Monroe Hall, Suite 440
202.994.1466
mylonas@gwu.edu                         https://harrismylonas.com/

Frances Norwood

Assistant Research Professor and Professorial Lecturer in Anthropology

Research Interests: Long term care and end-of-life health policy; healthy aging, disability; innovative health care solutions; quality improvement; spirituality and health; independent living and aging in place; health care reform and health policy; critical medical anthropology; qualitative and quantitative methodologies; United States and the Netherlands.

2110 G Street, Suite 102
fnorwood@gwu.ed

Curriculum Vitae

 

Robert Orttung

Research Professor of International Affairs, Director of Research, Sustainable GW

Research Interests: Comparative politics, Russia, Ukraine, Energy security, Federalism, Democracy

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.5730
rorttung@gwu.edu

Sebastien Peyrouse

Research Professor of International Affairs

Research Interests: Central Asia

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.8534
speyrouse@gwu.edu

 

Peter Reddaway

Professor Emeritus of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: Russian and Soviet politics

pbreddaway@cs.com

 

 

 

 

Scheherazade Rehman

Professor of International Business and International Affairs

Research Interests: International finance, economic development, the European Union

Funger Hall 401E
202.994.6813
rehman@gwu.edu

 

 

Sean Roberts

Associate Professor of the Practice of International Affairs and of Anthropology

Research Interests: Development theory, democracy development, media and development, culture and politics, indigenous rights, Central Asia, former Soviet Union, and China

1957 E Street, Suite 501 G
202.994.7739
seanrr@gwu.edu

Richard Robin

Professor of Russian and International Affairs

Research Interests: Russian language

Phillips Hall 509
202.994.7081
rrobin@gwu.edu

 

 

 

Peter Rollberg

Professor of Slavic Languages and Literatures; Associate Dean for Faculty Affairs and Research Initiatives

Research Interests: Soviet and post-Soviet culture and media, literature and film of Russia and Eurasia

Philips 513J
202.994.8711
prollberg@gmail.com

 

Nikolay Shiklomanov

Associate Professor of Geography

Research Interests: Arctic environment and development, climate change

Old Main 215
202.994.3966
shiklom@gwu.edu

 

 

 

Hilary Silver

Professor of Sociology, International Affairs, and Public Policy and Public Administration and Chair of the Department of Sociology

Research Interests: Social exclusion and inclusion, inequality, poverty, housing, homelessness, urban studies

801 22nd Street, 409J
202.994.6899
hilarysilver@gwu.edu

Tara M. Sinclar

Associate Professor of Economics and International Affairs

Research Interests: EU and Western Europe macroeconomics

Monroe Hall 314
202.994.7988
tsinc@gwu.edu

 

 

 

Michael J. Sodaro

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: Comparative and International Politics of Europe and Russia

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7412
sodaro@gwu.edu

 

 

Mary Beth Stein

Associate Professor of German and International Affairs

Research Interests: German literature

Phillips Hall 509
202.994.6896
mbstein@gwu.edu

 

 

Dmitry Streletskiy

Associate Professor of Geography

Research Interests: Arctic environment, climate variability and change, geomorphology, permafrost and glaciology, spatial statistics and GIS, geography of Russia

1922 F St, Room 217
202.994.9168
strelets@gwu.edu

David Szakonyi

Assistant Professor of Political Science

Research Interests: Political economy, corruption, politics of Russia and the former Soviet Union

Monroe Hall 416
202.994.9231
dszakonyi@gwu.edu

 

Steven A. Tuch

Professor of Sociology and Professor of Public Policy and Public Administration

Research Interests: Race and ethnicity, inequality, public opinion in post-communist Poland

Phillips 409B
202.994.7466
steven.tuch@gwu.edu

Sarah E. Wagner

Professor of Anthropology

Research Interests: War and memory, nationalism, forced migration, military culture, post-conflict social reconstruction

Hortense Amsterdam House 301
202.994.7545
sewagner@gwu.edu

Sharon L. Wolchik

Professor of Political Science and International Affairs

Research Interests: East European politics and gender issues

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.994.7524
wolchik@gwu.edu

Sufian Zhemkhov

Associate Research Professor of International Affairs

Research Interests: Ethnic politics, post-Soviet politics, nationalism, Islam, Caucasus

1957 E Street, Suite 412
202.355.5289
zhemukho@gwu.edu

Andrew Zimmerman

Professor of History and International Affairs

Research Interests: German history

Phillips Hall 304
202.994.0257
azimmer@gwu.edu

INSTITUTE FOR EUROPEAN, RUSSIAN AND EURASIAN STUDIES

1957 E St NW
Washington, DC 20052

Tel: (202) 994-6340
Email: ieresgwu@gwu.edu

Subscribe to IERES

Receive news and updates about IERES events.